Alessandro Sgobbio

Composer, Pianist, Bandleader.

Short Bio

b. 1982, Alessandro is born in Italy. Pianist, composer, improviser, 9 albums released as a band leader, co-leader, composer and producer. His co-led project “Pericopes” has won the 1st Prizes “Umbria Jazz Festival” and “Padova Carrarese” (6 albums, 100 concerts around Europe and USA). Mentioned in the young-new-jazz-talents list by the Italian jazz magazine Musica Jazz, Alessandro was one of the best 50 international pianists selected for the “Martial Solal Piano Solo Competition” in Paris. Alessandro leads an Oslo-based electroacoustic project called “Silent Fires” (featuring Karoline Wallace, Hilde Marie Holsen and Håkon Aase).

Long Bio

Alessandro Sgobbio he has been mentioned in the young-new-jazz-talents list by Italian jazz magazine Musica Jazz. So far, he has recorded seven albums of original compositions.

He has won the 1st Prizes “Umbria Jazz Festival” and “Padova Carrarese” (6 albums, 100 concerts around Europe and USA) with his co-led project “Pericopes”.

As a soloist, he has obtained the 2nd Prize at “Luca Flores” Piano Competition. In 2010 he is one of the 40 international selected pianists invited at the “Concours “Martial Solal” – Piano Solo Competition” in Paris, France.

After his Masters in Piano & Jazz Performance, (Conservatory of Music – Parma, Italy) Alessandro had the opportunity to accomplish his third Master in Composition at the Norwegian Academy of Music (Oslo, Norway), studying with his mentor, composer-pianist Misha Alperin.

Sgobbio attended the “Berklee College of Music” Clinics at Umbria Jazz Festival in 2001, “Siena Jazz” seminars in 2007, including some master classes with John Taylor.

Between 2005 and 2015 he has been an official piano demonstrator for YAMAHA.

In 2010 he recorded his first piano solo. In 2012 he presents PERICOPES debut album “The Double Side” at the “Jazz Pas Grave Festival” in Paris. [/one_whole_column]

After their appearance at the Umbria Jazz Festival in July 2013, Pericopes released the Live DVD “Frames” for ParmaFrontiere Records. In 2014 he went to USA for a tour and a recording session with his new project PERICOPES+1, featuring NYC-based drummer Nick Wight. The result of this experience is the album “These Human Beings” (Alfa Music, 2015), which rapidly gained attention of the international jazz press and iconic musicians as Dave Liebman and Enrico Rava.

In 2016 Pericopes + 1 performed a Spring European Tour of 22 concerts across the UK, Belgium, Germany, Czech Republic, Italy and France, with some appearances at the Gateshead Int’l Jazz Festival, The Jazz Bar (UK), Sunside Jazz Cluband Grenoble Jazz Club (FR), Masada (IT), Burg Jazz (DE) and many more.

Alessandro is the co-creator of new jazz-funk-spoken words project called “Debra’s Dream”, featuring singer Debra Shaw, bass player Darryl Hall & alto sax Logan Richardson. The EP has been officially presented at the Jazz Cafe Camden in London.

His French trio called “Charm”, featuring bassist Xuan Lindenmeyer and drummer Frédéric Chapperon, has opened the Italian Jazz Week at the Sunset-Sunside Jazz Club in Paris with a sold-out concert.

Alessandro leads an Italian-Norwegian electroacoustic quartet called “Silent Fires”, featuring singer Karoline Wallace, trumpet player Hilde Marie Holsen, and violinist Håkon Aase.

His music has been programmed at Radio France (France), RAI RadioTre (Italy), RSI (Swiss television), BBC 6 Music (UK).

In 2018 Alessandro released two new Pericopes albums: “Legacy” (trio — Auand Records) — and “What What” (duo — Unit Records). He will tour again Europe in February/March 2019.




– 1st prize Umbria Jazz Festival (Perugia)
– 1st prize Padova Carrarese (Padova)
– 2nd prize at Luca Flores Piano Competition (Florence)
– Selected for the ‘Martial Solal Piano Competition’ (Paris)
– MusicaJazz “TopJazz ’13” – Best Group of the year Toplist
– MusicaJazz “TopJazz ’12” – Best New Italian Talents Toplist

Selected Releases

– Pericopes, “What What” (2018) – Unit Records
– Pericopes+1, “Legacy” (2017) – Auand
– Debra Shaw, “Debra’s Dream” (2015)
– Pericopes+1, “These Human Beings” (2015) – Alfa Music
– Charm, “Charm” (2013) – Gaffe Music
– Alessandro Sgobbio, “Aforismi Protestanti” (2010) – Gaffe Music


Photo © Chiara Esposito